The Pascoe Vale District comprises the middle metropolitan suburbs of Coburg North, Gowanbrae, Hadfield, Oak Park, Pascoe Vale and Pascoe Vale South, as well as parts of Coburg and Glenroy. Twenty-six kilometres in area, the Pascoe Vale electorate is located approximately eight kilometres north of Melbourne.

Mostly residential, there are pockets of industry in Pascoe Vale. The electorate is fortunate to be bordered by both the Moonee Ponds and Merri Creeks, and has several other recreational and public open space areas for residents to enjoy.

There are 56,580 people living in the Pascoe Vale electorate of which there are 38,591 enrolled voters. The electorate is a fairly young electorate, with a majority of people under the age of 44 years. It features a strong migrant population, particularly from Greece and Italy. Lebanese and Turkish migrants have also chosen to settle in Pascoe Vale.

It was named after famed Melbourne settler John Pascoe Fawkner, who owned property in the area during the mid 1800’s. (“Pascoeville”).

The Pascoe Vale electorate, itself, was established in 1955 but existed for just three years when a boundary redivision saw the electorate abolished in 1958. In 1985 Pascoe Vale was re-established and has been held by the Labor party ever since.

Previous sitting members of the Pascoe Vale electorate include Arthur Drakeford (1955-58); Thomas Edmunds (1985-1988); and Kelvin Thomson (1988-1996).

For more information on the Pascoe Vale Electorate visit the VEC website.